• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New to bearded dragon

Ausbd

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hi

I'm new to all of this. I'm in Melbourne Australia and still researching everything before I go and bring one home. I've just received my basic license and have my enclosure.
Few things unsure about. Like correct temperature for enclosure. Also I have a ceramic heater instead of a lamp to heat enclosure but should I have a lamp instead for basking? I also have a 2ft UVB fluro. Should I be dropping temps during evening and if so to what? Sorry for all questions. But last thing I want to do is bring one home and harm him or her.
Any help and advice would be appreciated.
I can't wait.

Germ

Bearded Dragon Veteran
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
WelcomeToTheForums-1.jpg

Basking Spot should be in the vicinity of 110F (43-44C) for juveniles, 100-105F (38-41C) for adults. With a heat Gradient to 80-85F (27-30C) at the cool side for all.

BDs thrive on bright white light, so a white or clear bulb for daytime heat 12-14 hrs/day consistently, is preferred, off for the rest. Night heat is not needed or wanted unless your ambient room temps drop below the mid to low 60sF (17C), BDs should be allowed to cool down at night, slows the metabolism for a good nights sleep. Should ambient room temps drop below this at night, a CHE (Ceramic Heat Emitter) is recommended, of a wattage & distance just enough to take the edge off. Night lights of any color will bother most BDs at night. An electronic timer for the lights is highly recommended to keep their Day/Night schedule consistent.