• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Brumation?

JSpanky

Hatchling Dragon
Hello All,
I'm a bit new to all this. My first beardie and he's about 6 months so this is my first winter with him. Since the colder weather has set in I have noticed a slow change which I'm assuming is Brumation. He has been hanging out in his little cave area, the coldest and darkest spot in his habitat and seems to remain there for days. He doesn't seem to have much desire to eat either and his pooping has slowed to a minimum Handling him, he feels like his belly is full, but he does feels bit chilly to the touch. He also seems to be way more relaxed in handling than he was earlier (always trying to run around and explore) His UVA area is at about 105 and UVB around 80. I guess I'm looking for some reassurance, because it creeps me out. I'll reach in and pull him out after a day or 2 and he seems fine. I have even put him back in his basking area but after an hour or so, he is right back in his cave. Should I just leave him be? Is there any harm in disrupting him during this time?

Sadie

Bearded Dragon Veteran
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Hello All,