• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Yet another newbie!

Jimbo82

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
Hi all,

I'm new to the world of bearded dragons, and keeping them. My partner has an interest in these friendly little creatures (as do I), so I'm surprising her for her birthday with her own little bearded friend in a few weeks time..

As I'm new to all this, and everyone seems to have an view, I figured I'd place my plans out on the table for review of those that currently keep them, and see what suggestions flow to ensure I have all bases correctly covered!

Enclosure:
The basis of the enclosure will be black melamine fibre board, with a 6mm glass frontage running 1200mm long x ~500 deep x ~600 high. I would go deeper, but space is limited for now unfortunately. Access will be via the top with a full length hinged "flip over panel" giving access to all areas inside the enclosure.

There will be a 3 foot long UV light (with 10.0 rated tube inside) on a timer (12 hours on, 12 off?), with 2x 100 watt ceramic heat lamps & 1x 100 watt red heat lamp running on a full time thermostat to regulate the correct thermal temperatures (warm temps at one end, cooler at the other). I'm planing to mount the red heat light & 1 ceramic heat lamp within the 1st 3rd of the enclosure, the 2nd ceramic heat lamp within the second 3rd of the tank for basking, and the last 3rd of the enclosure becomes the cooler end. It's worth also noting that the red heat lamp will be switchable (turn on for day time, and off for night), but still run of the existing thermostat, leaving just the two ceramic heaters for overnight temp control.