• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

nye

Hatchling Dragon
Hey guys,

This is my first time posting on here. I'm usually just the type to read through the forums, but it's come to the point where I have to make a difficult decision for my Bearded Dragon.

His name is Pump and he's probably around 5 years old by now. No idea exactly since he was rehomed to me. He has a case of tail rot which two Vets have recommended amputation for since it has progressed past just treating with antibiotics.

I'm having a tough time making this choice because Pump also has MBD from his previous home and struggles to use his back legs. He depends heavily on his tail for balance and I'm not sure how great his quality of life will be without it. Any advice or thoughts? I don't want to make the wrong decision.

Skybug

Bearded Dragon Veteran
1,000+ Post Club
Hey guys,

This is my first time posting on here. I'm usually just the type to read through the forums, but it's come to the point where I have to make a difficult decision for my Bearded Dragon.

His name is Pump and he's probably around 5 years old by now. No idea exactly since he was rehomed to me. He has a case of tail rot which two Vets have recommended amputation for since it has progressed past just treating with antibiotics.

I'm having a tough time making this choice because Pump also has MBD from his previous home and struggles to use his back legs. He depends heavily on his tail for balance and I'm not sure how great his quality of life will be without it. Any advice or thoughts? I don't want to make the wrong decision.