• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Total Newb Questions

LittleMerlin

Juvenile Dragon
3 Year Member
Okay well I got my first beardie today after coming home from a LONG vacation, well long for me, lol. Anywho, here are some questions I have. I have done research so not to sound too newbish but I'd rather ask than not know. For the time being, Draco is in a 10 gallon that my leopard gecko Merlin used to stay in. I cleaned it well before putting Draco in. Here are my questions.

1.) I have a digital thermometer and it had read over 114 F this afternoon. That was without any lights on. His tank is by my window and I have my blinds mostly down. Is that why the temps spiked so high? I have it at 69 F for upstairs AC unit cause it gets so hot. Now it is reading 114.F on warm side with day light on and on cool side at just under 85. So is the thermometer that is brand new faulty?

2.) I don't know which veggies are best for him or if he needs it as some sites say not to introduce it right away to babies. They had some sort of lettuce in the food bowl at PetCo but not sure what kind. I wanna make sure that he needs it and what is the best for him.

3.) A lot of sites say he needs a water dish big enough to soak on. I got him one today but only put a little bit of water in because I didn't want him to drown. I need to get a different UV bulb as well. Didn't get the right sized one.

4.) If they need a soak dish, I am guessing you still need to mist them too like most sites say?