• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Spikey Red Poo?!?!? Any advice?

Beardiesrock84

Hatchling Dragon
Hello Beardie land!!! Sorry I haven't been on in awhile :( I've been super busy with school and work, I hardly ever even touch my computer lately. I did however pick it up today to do some research. I am trying to find answers and can't really seem to find any. I am curious what is in Gordo's poop. I know it's gross, but I'm also studying to be a Registered Vet Tech, and we are actually doing parasitology at school right now. So I volunteered to bring in a sample of my beardie's stool for the class to look at under the microscope. I know they normally have coccidia in their system, so it will be a fun experience for the 'baby vet tech's'.
Well about 3 weeks ago, I noticed Gordo not pooping in his tank as he usually does. So I soaked him because it had been about a week since he had a bowel movement. When I did, the urate had a bit of red in it and was very hard, I thought, well now he will feel better. Well, he hasn't been pooping on his own, I am having to soak him at least twice a week for him to have a bowel movement. I just soaked him again to take the sample into school, and this time, it was once again red, but there was a bit more, and was hard with spikes on it?!?!? I'm a little worried now. I know a reptile vet and I am taking him or at least the stool on friday, but I was curious if anyone knew what this might be? I took a picture and hopefully I can get it on here. If anyone knows anything I would be very thankful!! My poor little rescue guy.