• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Recently have become a Beardie mum. Advice please!

Youshallnotpass

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hey everyone,

So I have adopted a 2-3 yr old female Beardie from a family friend and have had her 4 days. I am completely new to owning a bearded dragon so not all that familiar with their behaviour, feeding etc.
I give her about 3 locusts a day, mealworms every 3 days and fruit and veg daily. Her tank has been set up so as that temperatures/humidity can be monitored etc so all in that area is good.
I haven’t got to handling her yet, I have been placing my hand in the tank near her so as that she gets use to my scent. However, today, she puffed out her beard at me, it didn’t go completely black as I have read but she was puffing out and opening her mouth and her beard did darken a bit.
I was wondering if that was normal? I’m worried I was threatening to her. I’m not sure on their typical behaviour as of yet!
I also read it could be a sign of illness? She is eating happily, both her live food and her fruit and veg.
I know this may sound silly but I’m worried my Beardie now doesn’t like me! I’ve read your supposed to let them settle into their new home for a while before handling which is what I am trying to do.
However, I have also walked away from her and watching her from a distance and her back is turned and she is still puffing up her beard.
I am a little concerned so any advice anyone can give would be fantastic.
Thank you!

Fumi

Hatchling Dragon