• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Proper UVB application

Mushu329

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello! I'm very new to the beardie way of life, and despite my research efforts, I still have a lot of questions. I purchased the "All Things Living" 40 gallon bearded dragon kit from Petsmart and it came with a 26W UVB high-output bulb and 100 watt basking bulb (see long link below). The tank is 36" long so I believe I actually need a 22" T5 HO 10.0 fluorescent bulb (to achieve 2/3 coverage as I've read) and I'm not sure if 100W is appropriate for my basking situation. I seem to only be getting 90 degrees at the basking point (using a laser thermometer). My beardie is a baby so I know it should be 100-107. Any suggestions there? I have also posted a pic of my setup and would love your expert feedback. My beardie hasn't eaten much since I bought him/her yesterday...2 crickets, and 4 nymph roaches. He/she sleeps most of the time and I'm not sure if that's normal. Thanks for the advice in advance!

https://www.google.com/shopping/pro...LnACh0LyQEPEAQYASABEgI_tPD_BwE&utm_medium=cpc

Attachments

• beardie.jpg
    beardie.jpg
    356.9 KB · Views: 108
  • beardie 1.jpg
    beardie 1.jpg
    328.5 KB · Views: 113

baldegale14

Juvenile Dragon
you would indeed need the 22” t5 HO UVB. (must be replaced every 6 months, its a bigger investment at the start but its better for them) for basking id get an exoterra 100watt or 110watt intense basking spot bulb

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

baldegale14

Juvenile Dragon