• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

outdoor housing

sandra

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
Hello, i am new to beardies and have a question i haven't seen asked on your site yet. i have two dragons,started with one, they are both adults, not sure of thier ages. I have followed the advise from your site as far as housing. they are each in a 4'x2'x2' enclosure. The lighting is the reptil 10.0 the heat is 105 to 80. i did blow it on the substrate, i have sand but will be changing to tile. now my question. i whant to move the enclosures to an exterior wall and have doors that they can go outside into a screened enclosure during the day. Will they be smart enough to go in if it gets to hot or starts raining? Will this new arrangement be to stressful for them as they are aduts. It gets very hot here in the summer 100-120 degrees. this would only work in the summers as it gets cold and snows in the winter. i'd appreciate your input on this.

lexi

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
You don't mention where you live, but the things that would worry me (besides escape) would be predators who could get through the screen or the dragons eating bugs from outside, particularly lightning bugs (fireflies) if you have them in your area, as they are toxic to dragons.