• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Out of Cage Handeling , guidelines.

nrokin

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
hello,

Im new to beardies and i have a question regarding handling and letting your beardie explore around your room, when is the best time to let them do this? Im used to my snakes not being able to be picked up for about 2 days after fed, so i am wondering should i handle them before feeding ? or a hour after? Can you pick them up when the lights of their cage goes out and hold them for a little while then putting them to bed? Thanks all in advanced!!

:D

renich

Juvenile Dragon
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Beardies can come out of their viv whenever you want them to. There is no specific time. They do need UV lighting daily. So, I would not let them out for extended periods of time. 45 minutes - 1 hour daily.

Beardies should be offered salad daily. This is a combination of veggies and greens. Here is a link to basic bearded dragon care. Give it a read. It lists suggested salads:
Bearded Dragon Care

Beardies under 1 year old should be offered proteins (bugs) daily - 2-3 times a day. Start the day with salad. Food should be offered no sooner than 1 hour after the lights come on. This allows them to warm up from the night and be able to digest their foods.

Food should not be offered 1 hour before lights off. Again, for digestive reasons.

As far as exploring, just be careful. Bearded dragons can be very fast. I have heard too many horror stories of beardies escaping in houses.

nrokin

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member