• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Newbie here

hecsana

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
Hello everyone! My husband and I just purchased our new beardie a couple of days ago. Maybe you can answer a few questions for me...

1. how often do you take yours out to socialize?
2. how often do you feed veggies vs. protein?
3. how long do you set daytime lighting?

We've done some reading, but would like to see how those of you who have owned a beardie for some time have done over the years.
Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

crypticdragons

Juvenile Dragon
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
1. how often do you take yours out to socialize?
I work with my adults as often as I can but I handle all of my babies daily to get them acclimated to being handled.

2. how often do you feed veggies vs. protein?
For babies/juveniles fresh salad offered daily and live feeders offered 2-3 times daily (and I often leave a bowl of some non-climbing insect for a during the day treat)

3. how long do you set daytime lighting?
14 hours on 10 hours off is my lighting schedule

If you don't mind I have a few questions for you
So how old is your baby? What size tank do you have your baby in? What type of lighting are you using (ie brand and type of uv bulb)? Whats your basking temps at and how are you measureing them? Whered you get your new family member from? what type of live feeder do you plan to offer?

Oh and we will all want to see pics of the baby ;D

zebraflavencs

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club