• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New to the Dragon scene , habitat questions

James Revenall

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hi all , like the title says I'm new to the hobby and with most pets like these I figure habitat and diet are the two most important things a man/woman should know going in. I think I have the diet down my girls eat Mango, Kale and Zuchinni daily as well as crickets 5-6 days a week and small superworms 3 or 4 times a week. Growing like weeds and molt almost every other week.

They have been living in a maybe 25 gallon reptile enclosure with the front opening glass doors with two basking lamps and two UVB bulbs but as of today I have gotten a 50 gallon breeder with a top sliding screen don't like that but it was free so cant complain. So my question boils down to how much heat and UVB do I need ?

Right now I have a 75 watt infared heat bulb and a 100 watt regular basking lamp bulb in separate dome 5.5" dome fixtures and two UVB bulbs rated at 10 a piece in a twin 5.5" domed fixture. The question is do I need an extra basking bulb when I move them from the 25 to the 50 breeder ? At present the basking area stays at around 100 degrees but the 25 gallon tank stays at 90-95 and the cool side at 80 + - a few degrees.

one more long winded question , I have tree braches from the tree in our backyard for them to lie on .... is that safe ? there were some termite holes in them but I cleaned them up and stripped the bark off, they love em they lie flat on their bellies and kick ther feet off and sleep for hours on it

Thanks for taking the time to read all of this
James

James Revenall