• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New Owner!

r00en

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello all! I'm new to owning a Beardie but not new to reptials and general. My little one has a very big sister in a ball python so I'm somewhat well known to rep needs but I just want to make sure I'm doing everything correctly.

My little guy is VERY little. The shop couldn't tell me the hatch date but he fits on my ring finger so I would say about 6 inches not including his tail.

Right now I have him in a 40g breeder tank with rep carpet, he has a water dish big enough for him to sit in for a soak but the water only reaches his elbows just in case. A salad dish with cut him kale and blue berries, which he shows no interest in, and a meal worm dish. Along with the normal basking platform, a climbing net so he can get almost to the top of the cage right under the light, and a rock hutch on the cool side.

Right now I have a 100 watt power sun duel heat and UVB as his main source of heat and a cermaic 100watt heat emitter to keep the rest of the tank warm and to give him warmth but zero light at night. The hottest it reaches right under his light (where he hangs out most of the time) is about 99-100f and about 85f at night with just the heat emitter. I did just buy another 160watt intense basking light to try and push the whole heat of the tank up a bit and his basking spot a bit hotter.

Right now Raz will eat a meal worm (a tiny one) but shows literally no interest in crickets or greens. I threw a bunch in there just in case he wants to snack while I'm not home but I dont think hes eating any. So a few basic run down questions