• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New Momma to Two Beardies

jones2831

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello Everyone!

For the past month I have been taking care of two bearded dragons, Whimsey and Spikey. Both a little less than 4 months old. I had them enclosures set up with lighting fixtures basef on what they need. Made sure they have enough food to ear too.

This is my first time to take care of their likes. Mostly I have been to dogs and fishes. Now I have been to tarantulas and bearded dragons. I'm lovingitl so far!

I think I'm lucky to have found this site. I still have a lot to learn and people here seem to be very helpful. There were other forums I checked but are only approving accounts by region.

Anyway... Whimsey has been opening her mouth everytime. Gawking? Not sure. Read somewhere that a gawking dragon is a happy dragon but my husband says it might be an early sign of respiratory infection. So that bothered me. Any thoughts?

Attachments

• IMG_20180426_130010.jpg
    IMG_20180426_130010.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 44

BeardedHippy

Bearded Dragon Veteran
Hi welcome to the forum. When beardies bask they will gape their mouths to regulate their temperatures, its quite normal, its what they do instead of sweating. Just be sure the temperature of his basking spots are not too high, but generally they will move to a cooler part of the tank if they get too hot.
Your tank setups look good, plenty of room, they should thrive in there. You will love being a beardie mom, they are amiable little critters.

Hdrydr31

Bearded Dragon Veteran
Staff member
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club