• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New Beardy Owner Looking for Guidance!

Mmantsiane

Bearded Dragon Egg
Good morning All! Excited to be here! While not super new the world of reptile ownership I am new to the Beardy-realm.

I received a 3-year-old female bearded from a friend of the family as they couldn't give her the love and attention she needed. So far she seems to have taken to me and my wife well, but she is glass surfing like crazy. I found a bunch of info saying it could be anything from stress from the new environment to she needs exercising. Working on the latter, trying to let her run around the house a little bit until we get the place "lizard-proofed". Any guidance y'all could provide would be greatly appreciated!

Anyway, the previous owner definitely hooked us up with a solid vivarium, some internal decor, and food. However, I have one concern. There is a cool black, styrofoam wall background that he left in the tank. It looks great, and provides her some additional surface area to climb on, however she is constantly tearing bits off which lands all over the ground and all over her. I have concerns about her ingesting them. Any thoughts about other best practices for her home?

Surely I will have dozens of more questions to come, so for now thanks!

Best,
Charlie

Mmantsiane

Bearded Dragon Egg