• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New Beardie Owner

Natie

Bearded Dragon Egg
I am new to owning bearded dragons. I’ve done tons of research and finally got one. He was being rehomed. He’s about 2 years old and sweet. I’ve had him about a week now and he has barely eaten. I have been squirting him with water. I talk to him everyday and interact with him for several hours. I know he is learning a new place, people, sounds, and smells. Is it normal for beardies to slow down their eating in new environments? I held him tonight wrapped in a blanket while I watched TV with my kids. He fell asleep. Is that a sign that he is starting to get more comfortable? I know it takes time to adjust, I just want to make sure he is getting the nutrition that he needs and the attention that will help him thrive. (Pic of my new baby: Mr. Bigglesworth).

Attachments

• 0CE60EBC-BC08-496B-90CA-B428D20A2340.jpeg
    0CE60EBC-BC08-496B-90CA-B428D20A2340.jpeg
    2.7 MB · Views: 38

Janelle

Juvenile Dragon
He’s cute! They do take some time to settle in. If you did your research, all your lighting is probably correct, but it might be helpful if you give us a quick rundown of what you’re using.
Most of us don’t mist them. You can just drop water down the center of their nose, continuing until they stop drinking. This way, they can drink it the way they would drink dew in nature, the humidity isn’t being raised in the tank, and they’re not suddenly being sprayed with water every day.
I love nighttime snuggle time. It’s a great way to bond with your beardie.

Natie

Bearded Dragon Egg