• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Nervous About Picking Up My BD!

LizziesOwner30

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
hi im kirsty and i am a newbie at caring for a beardie, ive only had her afew days i brought her off a friend of mine, My Beardie is called Lizzie And She Is 2 Years Old And Very Cute And Lovely Looking, I have always wanted a BD and have done all my research got the books watched the videos but i am really nervous about picking her up, im worried im going to hurt her or if she will hurt me.!!
P271010_2020_01.jpg

any tips and advice, as im really nervous lol :-[

zebraflavencs

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Just slowly reach your hand in, coming from either the side, or the front, and scoop her up, supporting the whole body. You can lay her on your chest, if sitting, or just holding her on your arm/hand.
Hope this helps.

staylor

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
put your hand in slowly from in front of her, keep your hand flat and slid it under her belly from between her front legs. Use your other hand to make sure she doesn't fall. The most important thing to remember is support her whole body and make her feel safe. She will not hurt you and as long as you support her whole body you will not hurt her either. Just keep working at it and you will feel much better about it.

LizziesOwner30

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member