• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

My dragon doesnt eat sometimes?

Krypt0nite1989

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
Ok. I'm new to the whole bearded dragon, and I love it. He is the coolest pet I have ever had and I enjoy laying with him, he loves to cuddle.

I just have one concern. Sometimes it seems like he doesn't wanna eat? Is that normal? Yesterday he ate three crickets in a row, and today he just lets them pass by his face and completely ignores it.

Is this normal? He is a baby, about 4-5 inches long not including his tale.

He doesn't seem skinny or anything, he seems pretty fit.

renich

Juvenile Dragon
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
A baby should be eating more than 3 crickets a day. Can you remind me how long you have had your dragon?

Krypt0nite1989

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
I have had him for almost 2 weeks now. Two weeks will be this coming thursday.

He seems very healthy. He's not skinny or anything.

zebraflavencs

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
First I wonder if baby isn't in shed, as this can depress the appetite.
Second, are the feeders no longer than the distance between dragon's eyes ?
Third, before yesterday ( the yesterday in your original post) how many crickets was baby eating daily ?
Fourth, if baby is not in shed, basking temps are good (between 105-120), uvb good and within 6-8" away; I would suggest getting a fecal exam.

Given the size from nose to vent ?, I would say you have a 7-8 week old baby... Same age that I received Orion and Gemini almost 2 years ago..
Hope this helps, and I'll wait for the answers to my questions.

renich

Juvenile Dragon