• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Meet Tofu and Spiny

alialidandi

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello,

I'm totally new to the world of Bearded Dragons, and here comes a nice long thread for you to enjoy!

we recently welcomed Tofu and Spiny to our home and I'm still trying to figure out their ages and personalities. I bought them at the same time from the same enclosure but I think Spiny is about 6 weeks (approx 4.5" s to v) and Tofu around 4 (approx 4" s to v); Spiny is very assertive when it comes to hunting down crickets but Tofu is much more timid and eats way less, also Tofu scratches at his reflection ("dumb" question: when people say to add a background to the tank to help with that, do they mean inside or outside the tank? if it's outside, that won't help counter the reflection... but if it's inside, isn't that dangerous for the dragon?).

They both hate baths but I gently mist them every day and they drink when I let the water run on their heads/faces. They go to the bathroom regularly and spend 95% of their time as close to their basking lights as possible. I have them in separate tanks. Spiny already shed once; Tofu seems to be shedding around his (her?) face and feet. We hold them for a little while every day to get them used to it; Tofu tends to try to run a lot, I don't know if that's just a juvenile beardie thing?