• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Looking for advice with adopted beardie

Abyss

Hatchling Dragon
Ok I wanted to help out this beardie someone needed to rehome it so I offered. I'm new to beardies but trying to learn as much as I can fast.

The girl who have me her seemed informed and like she knew what she was talking about but now that I have spoken with my local reptile experts, her setup for her is completely wrong.

She had a 2.0 UVB and a 50w heat lamp. She said that the dragon wouldn't eat crickets, I bought done got them home dusted them and she ate like 11 of them.

I will be removing he earth substrate in the setup tomorrow and using paper towels. It seems to really bother her when she's eating, plus paper towels are way easier to clean.

She had said that she put the calcium powder in her water? I'm like wtf I'm new to these guys but even I knew that sounded wrong.
I just misted her and set a bowl up with some collars green, bok choy, butternut squash, cucumber and blueberries for a treat but she hasn't seemed to want to touch it, hopefully she will later tonight.

I'm on a really tight budgets so I picked up what I could afford to make her situation better as fast as I could but I have a few predicaments that in worried about.

She said she was a year and a half and seems quite small for her age... She wasn't giving her the proper lighting do I'm hoping that the better light helps.

Here is the situation, she came with an exo terra 18x18x24. I know from my research that its way too small for an adult dragon so in the next few months in planning on making her a melamine 4x2x2 enclosure.