• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

I have a quick question.

ewood810

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
I am new to owning Bearded Dragons and I have a question, I want my beardie to be able to get out and explore. But he gets cold and then needs to go back into his cage to get warmed up. I am worried that this will hurt him in some way getting hot and cold all the time. I do want him to be able to get out is this hurting him or do I need to do something else.

ladyknite

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Dragons can handle cooling off. Note his behavior when he's out. When he becomes lethargic and finds somewhere to sleep, its time for him to warm up

ewood810

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
Ok that helps thanks. Thats what he dose he will be running around checking the place out then it looks like he is finding some where to take a nap and thats when I have been putting him back.

beardielover17

Juvenile Dragon
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
when you take him out does he have free roam of an area? if he does you could try giving him a way in and out of his viv so he can warm up on his own...magellan has an old 20 gal screen cover as his ramp in and out of his viv that he uses when he free roams

ewood810

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member