• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hi! Got a baby beardy today, and I want to make sure I'm on the right track...

valkryja

Hatchling Dragon
3 Year Member
Hello everyone! I'm pretty new to the bearded dragon scene, but I've owned reptiles in the past and just want to make sure I'm doing everything correctly.
I just bought a baby beardy today. His name is Wrex, and from what I can tell he looks to be about three months old. Very colorful with bold orange and black marks; I'll post pictures once I find my camera. :D I really just want to make sure that everything I've gotten is good for such a fragile looking little guy.

Here's what I've gotten:

Tank: Size 10, 20"L/10"W/12"H. Will definitely upgrade once he gets a little bigger, but a larger tank isn't really in the budget for the moment and he seems comfortable with this space right now.

Furnishings: Hollow half-log for him to climb on and get shade under, a little arrangement of fake leaves that he likes to climb up on to bask near the heat lamp, food and water dish (deep enough for him to drink easily and jump into if he wants to; shallow enough that his shoulders aren't covered so he won't drown), fuzzy cactus.

Heat lamp: Sun Glo 75w daylight spotlight, placed over the basking spot on the leaf arrangement.

UVB lamp: Reptisun 10.0 Compact 26w light.

So far he seems to be acclimating well to his new home. He spent most of the day up on the leaves, but he's ran around and explored a bit too.