• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Help please? (rescued from poor care)

mmausloos

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hi, my cousins had a bearded dragon for a while, but they are fairly young and lost interest and in turn the care for the lizard has been really poor. I just took him off their hands and want to take care of him right and help him get better but im new to lizards and hes pretty sick and i need any info and help i can get.

The dragon was not fed regularly and when i went to get him he was extremely thin, ribs showing and his tail looks really weird with it looking like its almost seperated inside. He can hardly move and constantly flails as he tries to move and looks to be almost arthritic or something. Another thing, hes actually around 4 years old but is only about 9 inches long with tail. He has a hard time getting crickets without me "disabling them" because he cannot move very well. I give him greens every day so far and some crickets but i also was given a calorie supplement to help him gain weight.

I just watched him crawl off his log and fall and hardly be able to turn over because he was too weak... i feel really sorry for him.

What else can i do? before leaving the house my little brother found a small piece of his tail in the bottom of the cage... like 1.5 inches in length that looks like just came off with no trauma... I can tell he is sick but i do not know what to do or if he has a chance. Will he be permanently crippled? can he get better?

Any info please. like i said, new to owning reptiles, but i have taken care of many other animals.

Janelle

Juvenile Dragon