• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Help! I have a biting beardie baby!

ragamama

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
??? :'( :'( :'
I am very discouraged and need help with my new baby. I am a beardie newbie, with a baby about 12 weeks old (rough guess) He is 8 1/2 inches, in a 20 gallon tank, proper lights, temp, he is healthy, eating well, pooping regular, but getting more and more aggressive, hissing, biting, trying to escape every time I put my hand in his tank. I am moving him out of sight of the cat who barely notices him-she could care less, and my two year old is not allowed to tap on the glass or scare him. I don't think this is it but we will do anything at this point. I always have clean hands so I don't smell like the cat too. I have been told to move his "furniture" around, change his basking spot to throw him off his high horse. I have seen videos of using your fingers like a beardie head and bob them at him so he knows I am alpha. Anyone try this? I am going to try feeding him outside his territory in a separate spot so he equates getting picked up with getting fed. I have hand fed him some and I handle him for 5-15 minutes 1-2 times a day. When he is held he can be calmed and even can get a bit sleepy but not every time. I never put him down when he is squirmy, and he is always aggressive when I first pick him up. Am I the only person on the planet with a fire breathing beardie? I feel like bad mama. My hubby thinks it is funny that my dragon is emotionally unavailable.

renich

Juvenile Dragon
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club