• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Gypsy Laid Eggs Then Ate Most of Them!

Bob21801

Bearded Dragon Egg
First let me say I'm pretty new to caring for Bearded Dragons. I have a couple that are less than 6 months old, and an adult female (Gypsy) that I got about 6 weeks ago from a guy on Criagslist. (He named "him" Spike. I was pretty sure she was a female and re-named her Gypsy. Apparently I was right) I was surprised today when I came home to find Gypsy laying eggs. They couldn't be fertile because she lives alone. It looked like she had about 17 of them. Is this an unusually big number?? And I didn't even realize she was carrying eggs. Anyway, I was checking on her off and on and after she finished laying she turned around and started eating them!! I let her do what she wanted, knowing they eggs aren't fertile. She ended up eating all but 7. After a bit she started kicking up sand, and whatever she could to try to cover the rest. I'm assuming this is her first clutch of eggs, as the other guy thought she was male, so apparently he and his family never saw any eggs out of her. He told me she's about 3 years old. Of course, I'm very curious about this behavior, so please fill me in with whatever info you can. Is this somewhat common? Is it possibly because she's not experienced in egg-laying? I suppose I should remove the rest of them tonight, huh? Thanks in advance for anything you can pass on.
Bob

PatsyB

Super Moderator
Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
Beardie Club