• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Eating

Sarahloucoss1628

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hey guys wondered if any of you could help me had my dragon on sunday and I don't think he's eaten anything he came with grasshoppers in the viv there's like 16 of them in there ! I have tried to feed him apple but he's not having any of it ,any ideas ??? Many thanks

Chicksy

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hi Sarah,

I'm fairly new to keeping beardies myself so I'm not hugely knowledgeable but I've read up a bit on them online. How old is your dragon? Have you just gotten him? I know from being told by the pet shop where mine were purchased and also from reading online that when they're first settling into a new environment they may not eat for a few days until they get used to their new home. Are the grasshoppers the right size for him to eat? If he's only a baby then you'll need small insects. My beardies are two months old and I feed them small or medium crickets and they're perfect for them size wise. I've also given them a small bit of greens and they've eaten them too. Just make sure any veg or fruit you give them is chopped up really small, I know from reading online that the pieces shouldn't be any bigger than the gap between their eyes.

I hope your dragon starts eating soon!

PatsyB

Super Moderator
Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
Beardie Club