• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Dragon keeps biting??

wavewarrior

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
Hi, Im new to the bearded dragon world. My dragon is about 10 months old and when i go to pick him up it attacks, and now his bites hurt to the point i wear a glove before i pick him up. I did not pick him up often when he was a few months old, only to clean its cage weekly. But it never use to bite until about 3 months ago...any ideas on how to stop this behavior? Ive been picking him up daily for the past 3 weeks and i havent seen any change...

wavewarrior

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
I go from behind, like a claw....i guess thats my first problem....should i scoop or let him come on to my hand?

Exile Skimmer

Juvenile Dragon
3 Year Member
thats your best bet because when you scoop him from the side. coming from above on most retiles they think your hand is prey like a bird and same thing from behind... prey trying to sneak up and take a meal... i had the same problem with my iguana and then was told about the way to pick up reptiles and i learned really quick that was my problem and started scooping up my iguana from the side and didnt have anymore problems after a little while... so i would start scooping him up from the side and see if that helps and if he is on a tree or somthing not sand becareful not to pull the claws when scooping. i hope this helps you it did for me

Exile Skimmer

Juvenile Dragon
3 Year Member