• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Continued Lazyness/Lethargy?

pamela simko

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hi there nice beardie people!
I'm new to having a lizard, and had actually posted something about my lizard before I realized how naturally lazy they are.
And so, I got used to how lazy my dragon was at that point. The problem is is that he's gotten worse.

At first, I would feed him by hand. He was new, I was suspicious about his health, and so I basically force fed him for the first few days. Then, he started to take the food from my hand, but still didn't move a muscle.
Then, there was a golden era where he would actually stick his tongue out and eat the bugs from outside as they would walk by. But that's over.
It's been about six weeks that I've had Bob, and in this amount of time I've only seen his little tongue in action a handful of times.
It isn't like I'm jamming food down his throat. He clearly wants to be eating. And truthfully, I have to starve him for a day for him to get hungry enough to eat on his own. He WILL eat on his own, but not as long as my paranoid crazy behind is going to feed him. Which is something that I cannot go six hours without doing.

I know that he now EXPECTS to be fed. He's like one of those badly behaved children on Maury Povich that continue to be bad bc they know that they can. He knows damned good and well that I really can't stand to see him hungry.
But WHY is he so lazy? Is it that he is lazy, or is this some other problem?