• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Can they see the red lights?

HlynnReid92

Hatchling Dragon
So Greg was told by a pet store last that beardies can't see the red bulbs in the heating lamps so they are good to use at night... A friend of mine who also has raised beardies disagrees. He says they can see it and it would disturb his sleep at night... Thoughts?

What kind of heating element should we switch to if that's the case?

Also our under the tank heating pad just went out. We need to find a new one soon.

DanielE

Juvenile Dragon
3 Year Member
Ive read (note read I have no experience) that the ceramic heat bulbs are good.

diegothediggy

Bearded Dragon Veteran
3 Year Member
Beardie Club
They can c the red light and it will disturb there sleep. If ur temps drop low of a nite u can get a heat emmiter its.just a blub that lets out.heat n no light :)

PatsyB

Super Moderator
Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
Beardie Club
Also remember that it's okay for the temp to drop a bit at night, that's what happens in nature. As long as it doesn't go below 68 degrees, your dragon should be okay without a heat element at night. We keep our house pretty comfortable, so at night their tanks take on the house temp which is around 74/75 degrees. The only time I ever had to use additional heating was when I first got Luci and he was starting to show signs of a URI.

HlynnReid92

Hatchling Dragon