• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Bearded dragon concerns

LukeJlord

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello!

Im new to bearded dragons but have kept other reptiles in the past and have just re-homed a beardie from some friends who could no longer give her enough attention but are having lots of difficulty with her so far.

A bit of background on her... her first owners starved her and trapped her tail in the glass meaning she has a much shorter tail which can be seen in the photos. She has always been kept on calc sand and for quite a while was without UVB light too.

When we adopted her our local pet shop who we get our food from had just had her board with them for a few weeks and had put her on birch chipping and told us to do the same now we had her as the sand wasnt doing her any good. She has been on birch chippings for about 3 weeks now and for the past few months has had a bright red basking bulb which has also been way too strong and caused her tank to get too hot as we didnt have a temperature controlled thermostat. Her basking bulb has also been left on 24/7 and her uvb bulb was on for around 14 hours a day.

After doing lots of research im finding out that red bulbs are really bad along with the substrate being bad for her too.

She spends most of her day trying to climb up the sides of the walls or clawing at the glass, what does this mean please and is this a bad sign?

Her last owner were feeding her 10 locust every other day too, shes is around 3 years old and weights 235g if i remember right