• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Baby hardly eating/not drinking

spacewerewolf

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello! I'm new to bearded dragons, and I've had this baby now for 2 weeks and he's around 10 weeks old. My problem is he's still not eating any better than he was when he first arrived and it's to the point where I'm geting really frustrated and just not enjoying taking care of him at all. I'd say on average he goes through anywhere from 3-8 medium size phoenix worms and 1-3 cut up small superworms a day. He doesn't show any interest in crickets. As I'm writing this it's now 7 PM by me and he's only eaten 5 p-worms and 1 super spaced out over the entire day.

I have a dish of phoenix worms constantly available in his cage (which he knows how to eat from) and every few hours I'll come in and try to tong feed him or drop prey in front of him so it wiggles around. I also have fresh greens and squash that I replace a few times a day but I don't think he's ever eaten any of it.

From what I've researched, my husbandry seems to be correct. He's in a 20 gallon long tank with the sides taped off with newspaper for extra security, newspaper substrate, an Arcadia 12% UVB tube sitting on top of the screen, and a basking rock. The temperatures range from low 80's on the cool side, to mid 80's towards the middle, low 90's on the warm side and 108-111 on the basking rock as measured with a heat gun.