• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Baby beardie head dragging

Buzzeo

Bearded Dragon Egg
I recently purchased 3 baby beardies, a male and two females according to the breeder, each around a month old. I'm new to owning dragons and so I was told only after that they may have been too young. Well unfortunately one of them, for about one day now, has begun to act strange. Laying flat, avoiding the basking area and dragging it's head along the floor eyes usually open and fixed on me. He/she does not like to touched or even have me near it and when I tried to handle it, he rolled around in my hand almost disoriented, head very heavy. When I feed them, however, he/she is the first to munch and eats considerably more than the others. I notice a lot of poop around the enclosure but have not seen it come specifically from him/her, although I don't think impaction is the case.The crickets I feed are pinheads some a little bigger but nothing bigger than the width of their head.

The basking area is 103F and the cool side is 90F with the floor being around 85-95F where the sickly dragon seems to spend most of it's time.

They are on Repticarpet with a log hide a basking branch and a shallow wide water dish.
The lights I use are ZooMed basking spot lamp 75w and ZooMed Reptisun 10.0 UVB, both in a dual deep dome sitting on the tank about 6 to 7 inches from the highest point on the log.

The two others seem to be doing well. They are not, however, taking to any greens I offer. I dust my crickets with calcium with D3.