• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Awake one day then sleeps all the next day!

goldie1

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
Hello Everyone,
I am a newbie with a bearded dragon. Our beardie is a little over a year and we have had her for a week. She was doing great at first eating and active. Then started sleeping all the time, no eating or drinking for a day or two. Then wakes up eats and is active once again. Then the next day back to sleeping all day again. Is this normal behavior for a young beardie? Is she bruminating? Stressed? Eating to much? When she is sleeping all day should we be handling her or leave her alone.

ladyknite

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Alot depends on other things in her behaviorisms and husbandry.

Can you describe her caging as well as what type of lights you use, including UVB and her temperatures.

At her age, brumation is definately an option, lets just take a closer look to determine if there is any concern that might cause you trouble a few weeks down the road.

renich

Juvenile Dragon
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
As ladyknight points out, it could very well be brumation, but your setup will help rule out other possibilities.

goldie1

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member