• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New Baby and questions

MWells

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
I have been lurking here for a while. I am a middle school science teacher and love animals. I already have a motley phase corn snake and two rats in my room. I have always wanted a bearded dragon. I found a program that provides grants for teachers so that they can add a pet to their classroom. The only down side is that you have to choose Petsmart or Petco. Our Petsmart is pretty good, much better than the Petco. Last week I received my grant package. I picked up the Zilla bearded dragon kit that comes with the 40 gallon breeder and some lights. I am in the process of building his basking spot, so in the meantime I have a temporary spot for him. the kit comes with the 5.0 coil bulb and a 100 watt basking bulb. I was having trouble getting hi temps up enough, I could only get to about 95. So I went back to Petsmart because the kit comes with a $50 coupon for additional supplies. I was intent on getting the 10.0 tube and fixture, as well as a better basking bulb. But I got talked into the Exo Terra Solar Glo bulb. It says that it provides "optimum" uvb light, but it doesn't give the level. The temps are much better now, but I am concerned that he isn't getting enough UVb.

So, my question is what to do next. Should I just leave it as it is and use the calcium w d3, which by the way is the only thing I have found, or should I go to the 10.0 tube and fixture as I was originally planning and then use the calcium without d3?