• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Rescued a beardie and need help

Mason

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hey guys I'm new to the beardie world we have a rescue bearded dragon (Mushu) he wasn't taken care of very well every time I try to pick him up he gets very jumpy and runs away any ideas on how to hold him so we can bond

RaeAnn

Bearded Dragon Veteran
Glad to hear that you took this little guy in sounds like he needs the love and attention. Someone with more experience should chime in soon and offer you some great advice. Until than I would give him some time to settle into his new home sounds like he's a little frightened and stressed. I'll also add that it's normal for a Beardie to be stressed for a few weeks when they are moved to a new home.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mxw0rld

Bearded Dragon Veteran
What Raeann said it true. New beardies go thru stress relocation and need time to adjust to their new home. Just give it time. No matter if they are babies or adults. Try holding him for 5-10 minutes at a time a few times a day. For about a week. He will come around.

When you pick him up are you picking him up from the top or under his mouth?

Does he beard at you or open his mouth at you when you try to pick him up?

Hdrydr31

Bearded Dragon Veteran
Staff member
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Congratulations on rescuing him..