• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Dimmer recommendations?

donprec

Juvenile Dragon
I've never tried dimmers before, didn't really seem to need them with the aquariums. But since getting the enclosures, I had to struggle with so many different light watts to get the temps right and not too hot. Just when I thought I got things right, this recent warmer weather is making my enclosures too warm again. The air conditioner doesn't cool off the upstairs the way it does downstairs and the room my lizards are in is the warmest room in the house. I have the basking and mid temps in the enclosures ok, but there's just not as much of a cooler side. Do other people have this problem with their wooden enclosures?
When I'm home and the temps start to peak, I just leave one side of the doors of their enclosures open to let more air flow through and that usually works good enough. But sometimes when I come home from work, both Precious and Tequila are on the cooler side and Precious will practically jump in my hand to get out. Granted, she'll come right out only to go straight into the window where it's warm again, so I can't tell if her wanting to come out is just because she just wants to come out or that she was too hot...or both.
I'm going to Home Depot today to try to see if I can come up with some way of trying to make one of the doors a screen door or just somehow have a screen on one half of the enclosures. But I'm not handy so I don't know if I'll be able to come up with something that works securely enough that I could leave the screen there all day when I'm not around.