• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Brumation or not

melissam

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello,

I am new to bearded dragoning. My 4 year old dragon seems to be wanting to brumate but still eats food. He mostly hides out all day but will come out for crickets and worms. He ate some salad about 4 days ago as well.

This is not his usual lounge in his basking spot all day behavior. He is parasite free and his temps are controlled by thermostat and I have the proper uvb lights and heating.

I guess my question is "am I stopping him from brumating by feeding him?" My vet also said to try to avoid brumation for him... (I don't even know if you can stop it but he is a good weight so don't know why it should be avoided)

I have read that some people lower the daylight hous and temperatures and offer less and less food) I am just not sure how to proceed. Just keep coaxing him out of his hidey hole with food until he stops wanting it?

Side note, he has been doing this for about a month now.

Thanks for any insight!

melissam

Bearded Dragon Egg
And here is a picture of his setup and him hiding in his plants which is so cute.
20231121_145325.jpg

Sadie

Bearded Dragon Veteran
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
And here is a picture of his setup and him hiding in his plants which is so cute.View attachment 34957