• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New Owner trying to start off on the right foot.

Kayanarka

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hi Everyone, I am new to bearded dragons. It is amazing how much technology has come along. I spent hours last night learning about UVB.

20220809_193947.jpg

We got him last night and of course the petshop started me off wrong with this setup for lighting:
20220809_194312.jpg

After my research last night I bought all these goodies:
20220809_194611.jpg

They did not have a 14%kit so I had to buy the kit and another bulb to get the 14% UVB.

And our new friend is basking away under the new lights.

I have this controller on the way:
Screenshot_20220809-194828_Chrome.jpg

I used a metal probe meat thermometer to check the temperature of his basking area while waiting for the controller to arrive, it looks like he can go up and down his branch to go from 105F down to 90F. He is resting in the 90F area right now.

He ate a cricket when we first got him in the setup last night, as well as a bit of Flukers Crafted Cuisine. He has not eaten at all today, I am hoping the better lighting will help with his appetite.

He did get quite a bit of attention today. My daughters had him out of the enclosure maybe ten times today for five or so minutes each time. My wife said he would get darker the longer he was out, then he would lighten up again when placed back under his light.

I plan to setup the ceramic heater after lights out tonight and use the dimmer to get ambient temps as close to desired levels as possible. It gets down to 65F in the house here at night.