• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

new and just got my first bd:)

I.heart.my.bd

Juvenile Dragon
Hell from Southern Florida:)
I am obviously new to the forum and this is my first time ever with a bd...I havent much info on my bd as the guy at the pet store wasn't too helpful with him. I must say I love my beardie already though. I must ask, since getting him three days ago, he has eaten soooo much..is this normal eating for them? What is considered normal I guess as far as how many crickets/day they eat?? Also, the pet store guy suggested sand to us but i read this isn't good for them? Is this so? Sorry I am asking so many questions, just something new:)

I hope to interact with y'all and get to know more about my bd:)

ThDude

Bearded Dragon Veteran
Well first welcome to the forum, glad your interested in dragons.

My first thing would be he needs at least a 20 gallon long tank for him thought a 30 is a better idea or even a 40 as they grow fast and grow to be over a foot long.

Second get a good digital thermomitor for the tank, one with the probe that you can put on his basking spot, the temp on the basking spot should be between 100-110F during the day.

Sand is a no no, a baby dragon can eat it and get inpactation which in some cases can lead to death.

Yes bearded dragon babies can eat from15-30 or even more crickets in a day, the general idea for feeding them is: feed them however much they will eat within 10-15 minutes for 2-3 times a day.