• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Merlin the Lizard Wizard!

merlinthelizardwizard

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hi everyone! I'm pretty new to reptiles, I've mostly had parrots and mammals in the past.

I've owned two reptiles before Merlin- an adult male crested gecko and a female leopard gecko. I loved them both but I sadly had to rehome them a few years back.

I recently moved in with my boyfriend and his family and was missing having a pet, so with the families permission, I got Merlin. A bit unprepared, to be honest. Not a full-on impulse buy, but I definitely should've waited until I had everything ready.

Merlin came home on April 15th 2022 and has been in a 10 gal (definitely not good but he is quite small) up until today! We just upgraded him to a 55 gallon and he is loving all the space. We will upgrade him to 100+gals once he's fully grown. His tank is 48in long, 13in wide, and 21in tall. Definitely not made for reptiles but I think its good for now!

I have a few questions! Since I'm used to more low maintenance reptiles, and there is so so much conflicting info online, I was wondering a few things:

What is a good ratio of veggies to fruits as a juvie? (between 1-3 months)

What vegetables are good? What veggies should we avoid? (I fed him kale because multiple websites said it was okay and he loved it, but I spoke to my zookeeper friend and he said kale is a no-go due to the possibility of it binding calcium)