• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Keeping Good Basking Temp in Winter

kbinder

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello all! This is my first time posting so please bear with me. First time bearded dragon owner. Got Tyler (yes my 6 year old named him) from a rescue organization about a month ago. Not much prior info on him. He’s about 14” long from head to tail tip and is very well mannered. Loves his crickets and Phoenix worms and only likes mustard greens and squash so far. He also drinks very well from a water dish. We have him in a 40 gallon glass tank with a mesh top. We use a Large Combo Deep Dome Lamp Fixture with ReptiSun 10.0 Compact UVB Fluorescent Bulb and 100W Repti Basking Spot Lamp. They are on a timer 14 hours on and 10 hours off. I use a Digital 2-in-1 Terrarium Reptile Thermometer Hygrometer With Probe that usually reads 98-102 degrees on the basking side and about 79-80 on the cooler side. However it’s recently gotten substantially cooler and now the basking temp is no higher than 90-92 degrees (cool side still no lower than 78). I’ve turned off the ceiling fan in the room along with having the central heat turn on at 73 degrees to warm the room up. My beardie is continuing to eat like a fatty, staying hydrated and not acting funny or turning darker but I’m still concerned his basking temps aren’t high enough. Should I change to a higher wattage basking bulb or maybe cover a portion (not all) of the mesh top to keep some heat in? I won’t use a under tank heat pad because they can malfunction. Any insight would be appreciated and sorry for the long post lol

PatsyB

Super Moderator
Staff member