• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hello all

Mightaswell

Hatchling Dragon
Hi all!
I'm very new to bearded dragons. I currently have 2 that I purchased about 3 weeks ago. I converted a dresser into an enclosure for them while I am finishing a 4x2x2 enclosure out of 3/4 birch plywood. I used 1x3 and 1x2 pine to frame in a sliding door with a substrate guard. There is enough depth for 6 inches of substrate and an 1 1/2 gap from the lip of the door.
16140961594413693735878626599957.jpg

I'm currently getting ready to put a second coat of water based varathane 3x polyurethane on it after I sand with some 220 sandpaper gently.
So what you guys think? I read a lot of info that said that I could use kiln dried pine safely on the enclosure especially if I use polyurethane. As you can see from my next pic, the whole front door area are all pine 1x3 and 1x2. You'll also notice a shelf above the door I added to hold various thing for the dragons. Under the shelf I'm putting a curtain to block light either going in or out since it's in the bedroom.
16140966859153980313654073961130.jpg
do you guys think I'm on the right track so far?

Beardomania

Juvenile Dragon
As soon as you said you would build your own enclosure instead of spending $400 for one, I knew you had everything on track. People who DIY get the most out of every experience.