• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

DIY?

ohwonder

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello, I was wondering if anyone here has made there own decor. I went and bought fake plants today, and my idea was too put them in styrofoam and paint the foam with non toxic paint that is safe for reptiles.

Then I realized that my beardie could tear up the foam and possibly eat it.. can't let that happen.

I have had success with DIY for Crested Geckos, but i am new to bearded dragons. A lot of the quality, and aesthetically pleasing plant decor from stores are over priced in my opinion. Any of you have success of ideas for DIY? I am in the process of making a hammock/ladder already.

BTW the plants would not be situated on the hot side of the tank, I don't want any melting or possible fumes.

BeardedHippy

Bearded Dragon Veteran
hello, I agree with you. Tank decor is way overpriced for what it is and making your own is good fun. Painted styrofoam is used a lot in tank backgrounds etc, I wouldnt worry too much about them eating it ,especially if it is coated with a good sealer or grouted first. Plastic plants are fine in the tank so long as they dont have any small removable parts (i have seen some that are just small sections of leaf clipped together) and like you say, not put directly under the basking lamp. I have been wanting for quite some time now to make some decor using polyresin, but I cant justify the cost at the present time. I have made my own bridges out of bamboo, not the best material as it turned out as it cracks (audiably!) when it expands and contracts.
Take some pics and show us what you build :)

PatsyB