• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Caring for Rosie the college bearded dragon

Amber_Rosewood

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello, so I thought I may as well join a forum after agreeing to take care of Rosie the college 'pet' for Easter. I have been completing her duties on the husbandry plan but could do with some tips. I am studying a diploma in animal management but would appreciate the help. How often should I give baths? How many stools a day/week is normal for an adult female, is her whiteish foot just a shed sign? How many locusts to feed a day or week? What's the ideal basking temperature? Any other tips you guys can offer?
-Amber

Gerald Smith

Hatchling Dragon
I’m a new owner but I’ll answer what I can. It can be bathed 1-2x a week. Basking temp should be around 90-105 degrees for an adult. I believe the whitish skin is shed but could be something else post a pic and maybe someone can identify it.

Future’s Mom

Bearded Dragon Egg
How often should I give baths? You can’t “overdo” baths, so don’t worry about overbathing. Depending on Rosie’s age and whether she is shedding or not, she should soak 2x per week (dragons get their hydration through absorption). If she is shedding, It’s also a good idea to mist her at least once a day to help the process along.
How many stools a day/week is normal for an adult female? It depends on how much she is eating and her metabolism. She should poop every 1-3 days.
is her whiteish foot just a shed sign? Yep! The soaks will help with her shed. Heads up that she may seem lethargic or sad - that is typical for a shedding dragon.