• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

A Little Antisocial?

LittleBeardieSpyro

Bearded Dragon Egg
I just got a bearded dragon about a month ago from this woman a friend of mine knew. I have no idea where she got the dragon, but she is apparently about 7 months old now. She was friendly enough when we first got her (she even cuddled me), though nervous and full of energy, but then a couple weeks later she tried to bite me when I picked her up.

I don't think it was a wholehearted attempt, but it startled me. I'm new to caring for beardies, but my friend has four of them so I have no problems confidently picking up or holding one. I know the woman we got her from didn't let her out of her tank much. We named her Spyro because she was such a wild child, but now I'm wondering if I did something wrong?

BeardedHippy

Bearded Dragon Veteran
Hi, you probably just startled it, it can happen if you try to pick them up from above. She needs to see you coming , then scoop her up from underneath. She may seem pissed now, but she will get over it, just take it slow and gain trust.

LittleBeardieSpyro

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hi, you probably just startled it, it can happen if you try to pick them up from above. She needs to see you coming , then scoop her up from underneath. She may seem pissed now, but she will get over it, just take it slow and gain trust.

Well, that's the thing. Where the tank was she could see me just fine. She looked straight up at me and my hand. She doesn't seem to like being handled at all and I'm still even just trying to figure out what she likes to eat.

LiamR

Hatchling Dragon