• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Career aspirations

Chicklet

Hatchling Dragon
So I've been doing some soul searching for a few years and I think I've finally decided what I want to do with my life and it's be a vet. I was wondering if anyone has any words of wisdom for me before I go full tilt into this. I live in the US and the thing I'm most concerned about is facing the people who want to put their pets down... just because they don't want them. I honestly don't think I can handle that because animals are far too precious to me.

PatsyB

Super Moderator
Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
Beardie Club
I've heard that the profession has a very high rate of suicide and depression. Where it seems nice having patients that can't talk back, it's very hard having patients that can't tell you what is wrong with them. As much as it hurts us to have a sick or dying pet, it hits them even more because they see so many in one day.

I commend anyone that becomes a vet because they have to have a very strong personality and good bed side manner.

Canicke

Super Moderator
Staff member
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Hi Chicklet - a couple of questions - are you now in school? studying what? or are you employed? doing what? You might want to consider working as a vet tech for a bit. vet school is highly competitive. hard to get in.

Chicklet

Hatchling Dragon
Hi Chicklet - a couple of questions - are you now in school? studying what? or are you employed? doing what? You might want to consider working as a vet tech for a bit. vet school is highly competitive. hard to get in.