• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Adopted senior bearded dragon.total newbie.freaking out.help pls

BeardieBooBoo

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello all!
I've been researching lizard care all night and finally thought...why don't I check with some experts?
I am a new owner of an old beardie. Larry is 15 years old. Summary of why and how: Science teacher moving+email w/ header "Lizards Up For Grabs"+ impulsive mom + 4th grader with lizard-love at first sight=no turning back now.
So today my daughter and father in law picked up Larry and his vivarium and lights & worms& vitamin powder & spritzer bottle & sand & cage cleaner and...no...instructions!
I am mostly worried about the lights and the temp. I have a white light and a red light and I don't know when to put them on (always?) and I have a bad thermostat that I think is broken. I've ordered a new one, but I'm worried about the temp thru the night tonight. What do I do????

Attachments

• IMG_9009.JPG
    IMG_9009.JPG
    813.7 KB · Views: 23

BeardedHippy

Bearded Dragon Veteran
Hi and welcome, you will find all the help you need here, they are a helpful bunch. Congrats on your new adoptee, he looks great. You will find that most here will tell you to ditch the sand as it can cause impaction, but its obviously what he's been used to and at 15 (wow, thats a good age) I'd say its not worth changing unless you want to. The thermostat regulates the temps both day and night so if you needn't worry about that if you have a new one. All the info you need is here.

puffthedragon

Hatchling Dragon
Wow! 15! Thats awesome!